JOHAN TAHON - UNIVERSUS

EXHIBITION SCULPTURES 1999 - 2021

24 April until 30 September 2021

 

portrait Johan Tahon © Carlo Verfaille - fotograaf

 

 

 

There are many sides to the sculptor Johan Tahon: light and dark, simplicity and mystery, freedom and interconnectedness, heaven and hell, poetry and metal. He knows many loves. He is water, air, fire and earth. He is ceramics, plaster and bronze. There are multiple Johan Tahons and they are all part of his work.

 

Each is revealed in the exhibition UNIVERSUS, JOHAN TAHON, SCULPTURES 1999-2021: all the Tahons that he has feverishly mined over the past twenty years. In addition to an outstanding selection of his own creations, the exhibition offers a surprising insight into the artist’s impressive private collection. This includes a wealth of ceramics – from early Islamic pottery (9th century) to Italian Renaissance majolica (16th century) – but also letters from August Rodin and Rainer Maria Rilke, together with a sculpture by Georges Minne. The highlights of a life rich in encounters are displayed in an improvised ‘Cabinet of Curiosities’.

 

‘The MOU Museum is a magical place in which to look at my history and, at the same time, to begin a new narrative.’
Johan Tahon

 

In the other rooms of the MOU Museum, too, Tahon collides lovingly with the 16th-century building and the permanent collection of tapestries and silver. Through imaginary interlocking images, the visitor not only gains an overview of Tahon’s oeuvre, but also an insight into the things that have shaped him and those that spur him onwards. The things that torment him and those that make his heart race. Who he was, is and will be.

 


‘Johan’s sculptures are at once recognisable and enigmatic creatures. By juxtaposing the works with the MOU collection, the visitor is invited to read their full enigmatic meaning.’
Curator Arie Hartog

 


Johan Tahon (b. 1965, Menen) studied sculpture and was not yet thirty when he entered the international art arena. His sculptures can be found in important public and private collections and are regularly exhibited in renowned galleries and leading museums in Belgium and abroad.
Johan Tahon’s studio has been based in Oudenaarde for many years.

 

 

Johan Tahon

 

 

  FAQ - questions fréquemment posées sur les réservations et les billets

Tickets can be purchased in advance online via the link above - or on the day itself at the box office.
(the reservation module opens in a new window)

 

You have a question about your visit or about your ticket for the exhibition? Read our FAQ via the link above.

(pdf opens in new window)


You can contact us :
by mail at visituniversus@oudenaarde.be
or by phone at +32 55 31 72 51

 

 

 

 

facebookMOU

© MOU Museum Oudenaarde en de Vlaamse Ardennen - design Digital Cordon Bleu

JOHAN TAHON - UNIVERSUS

EXPOSITION SCULPTURES 1999 - 2021

prolongé jusqu'au 7 novembre 2021

 

portrait Johan Tahon © Carlo Verfaille - fotograaf

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le sculpteur Johan Tahon est un artiste pluriel : lumière et obscurité, simplicité et mystère, liberté et attachement, ciel et enfer, poésie et métal. Il nourrit des amours multiples. Il est l’eau, l’air, le feu et la terre. Il est céramique, plâtre et bronze. Il est de nombreux Johan Tahon et tous font partie intégrante de son œuvre.

 

L’exposition UNIVERSUS, JOHAN TAHON, SCULPTURES 1999-2021 les présente tous : tous les Tahon qu’il a explorés fébrilement ces vingt dernières années. Outre une formidable sélection de créations personnelles de Johan Tahon, l’expo propose un surprenant aperçu de l’impressionnante collection privée de l’artiste. On y trouve beaucoup de céramique – poterie du début de l’islam (IXe siècle), majolique de la Renaissance italienne (XVIe siècle) –, mais aussi des lettres d’Auguste Rodin et Rainer Maria Rilke, et une statue de Georges Minne. Dans un cabinet de curiosités improvisé, le visiteur découvre le condensé d’une vie de rencontres.

 

« Le MOU est un lieu magique pour regarder mon histoire et entamer en même temps un nouveau récit. »
Johan Tahon

 

Dans les autres salles du musée, Tahon se lance dans une tendre confrontation avec l’édifice du XVIe siècle et sa collection permanente de tapisseries et d’argenterie. À travers l’imbrication imaginaire des sculptures, le visiteur acquiert une vue d’ensemble de l’œuvre de Tahon, de ce qui a formé l’artiste et de ce qui le fait avancer. De ce qui le tourmente et de ce qui le fait bondir de joie. De qui il était hier, est aujourd’hui et est en passe de devenir demain.

 


« Les sculptures de Johan sont des créatures à la fois reconnaissables et énigmatiques. En les plaçant face à la collection du MOU, nous invitons le visiteur à les déchiffrer dans toute leur mystérieuse signification. »
Curator Arie Hartog

 


Johan Tahon (Menin, 1965) a fait des études de sculpture et il n’avait pas trente ans lorsqu’il a fait son entrée sur la scène artistique internationale. Ses sculptures figurent aujourd’hui dans d’importantes collections publiques et privées et sont régulièrement exposées dans des galeries renommées et des musées de premier plan en Belgique et à l’étranger.
Johan Tahon a depuis de nombreuses années un atelier à Audenarde.

 

 

Johan Tahon

 

 

  FAQ - questions fréquemment posées sur les réservations et les billets

Les billets peuvent être achetés à l'avance en ligne via le lien ci-dessus - ou le jour même à la billetterie.
(le module de réservation s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)

 

Vous avez une question sur votre visite ou sur votre billet pour l'exposition ? Lisez notre FAQ en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessus.

(le pdf s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)


Vous pouvez nous contacter :
par courrier à l'adresse visituniversus@oudenaarde.be
ou par téléphone au +32 55 31 72 51

 

 

 

 

facebookMOU

© MOU Museum Oudenaarde en de Vlaamse Ardennen - design Digital Cordon Bleu